Hello Fellow Gardeners

31 07 2011

The Usual Suspects

Welcome to Paul From Alabama’s brand spanking new and improved  WordPress.com. blog. With my daily (well almost daily) little stories about the joys and sorrows, ups and downs, successes and failures, absurdities and all the wonder and head scratching that gardening is and some of my adventures, experiences and thoughts on small town life here in Piedmont,  Alabama or as I like to call it, The Fun Capital of the South…..:-) I’m going to throw in some photos of our garden from “Beginning” to well not the end I hope but a representative sample of photos of how our garden has looked over the years and looks now since my wife and I moved back to my favorite and only hometown I claim to have, Piedmont.  Now the fact that Piedmont might not have claimed me as a favorite son or even an acquaintance at certain times in my colorful and kinda wacky life is the subject of several of my “life in a small town” stories. All of which are in the Archives. And fellow gardeners you get all that at no extra charge. And if you call our operators within the next 15 minutes you also receive my opinion of various aspects of life that are so interesting and informative that even my mother won’t take the time to read them……:-) So here it goes, ready? Set? Let’s go story telling…….

Addendum:

Absolutely seriously now for a change. I want to thank anyone and everyone who has visited my other blog site,  http://web.mac.com/sinai/Site/Blog/Blog.html over the years and who perhaps while reading all or any of my little stories, have gotten a smile, a grin, a laugh or even found something you liked or found interesting in my incessant daily ramblings and little stories on gardening and small town life. The comments you were nice enough to take the time to leave on the blog, your emails, your posts on Facebook and your tweets on Twitter have made writing these little stories a pleasure. Something that has brought hours and hours of joy to my life and many new friends. I can’t even begin to thank you enough for what you’ve done for me and my wife Linda. Fortunately my life couldn’t be better even if I found a bag with a million dollars in it (well I’d try to improve one or two things in my life with that kinda cash..:-)) and one of the reasons why is you folks who take the time to read my little stories when I know there are a million other things you could be doing with your time. I ain’t no professional writer, author, bon vivant, renaissance man or even a close relative of Shakespeare, but what I am is a happy and lucky gardener and small town resident whose has met lots of fellow gardeners while writing these little stories and it’s been on of the highlights of my life. I can’t even begin to thank you enough for you time, your comments, your friendship.

I’m going to leave my other blog up for the rest of the year as far as I know now, but Apple Computer, whose computers I’ve used since I first ever used a computer back in 1992 or so, is getting out of the website, blog hosting business and I got to find another home and here it is. I hope you’ll stay with me here  and you’ll come back whenever you can and that anything you see or read here will mean something to you, something good I hope and that whatever you do read or see here will bring a smile to your face and some happiness into your life. Writing these little stories sure has brought some smiles and happiness into mine.

Paul From Alabama

Actions

Information

23 responses

31 07 2011
Nell Jean

Thanks for following my seedscatterer blog. The message I got said you were here and that they think you are from Chicago, Illinois, USA. Maybe this is a mobster theme. It will look better with some colorful writing and photos added.

1 08 2011
paulfromalabama

You know what Nell Jean, if only you, my mother, my wife, my little sister, the kid next door and even if my pesky little brother read my little stories I’ll be happy. Any other folks who stop by to read any of them will just be icing on the cake and much appreciated, but I know a few folks will give my new blog site a look see and I hope they come back whenever they can. I don’t make any money with this blog, no advertisements that I’m responsible for and I sure ain’t selling anything but smiles and they come free of charge……So here’s hoping I have lots of old friends and new ones to come a calling to read some of my little stories.

1 08 2011
Christi Gibson

I hope to never loose you again. It was a long dry spell when you quite writing for awhile. I’m in.

Christi aka LouC

2 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Well Christi I hope I don’t lose you either, I hadn’t gone anywhere all that time, I just wasn’t writing or felt I had anything worthwhile to say…Funny that, if you don’t think you got anything to say, worthwhile that is, then how do think other folks are going to or even want to take their time to read it…..That’s kinda how I felt, but I don’t know one day I felt like, hey I got a few things about gardening, plants, roses, etc and a couple of things small town wise I’d like to say and to hear what other folks think about it too. So there you are, and here I am, writing again about this and that…..One thing for sure, I’m glad you enjoy reading them. You take care and I hope you stay cool in the little heat wave we’re having here lately……

1 08 2011
RedneckRosarian

Great move!

2 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Thanks Chris, I’m really enjoying it so far. My old blog was kinda like reading a piano, all black and white. I liked it I reckon but it was hard for other folks to read sometimes and even I got where I had a hard time seeing some things I wrote. Now as far as understanding what I write, well I don’t think where I write it is going to make what I write anymore understandable to others, cause even I don’t understand what I’m saying sometimes and I wrote it……:-) As always I sure enjoy your posts on roses and look forward to the photos too. Looking forward to the next #rosechat too.

1 08 2011
Vickie

Great move, Paul!

2 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Thanks Vickie, I was going to call you and ask you what you thought of WordPress and all and ask you a million other questions but I decided to give it a try on my own without worrying to much about how many mistakes I was going to make. I thought I’ll just take my time, do the best I can and let the chips fall where they may…Well I hope I landed on my feet and I’m still transitioning content from the old blog and trying to do some new things with this one. I love how the comment section is set up, its like having a real time conversation with my friends on here, like you. It’s just fun now instead of something I enjoyed but was always trying to catch up with….Now that doesn’t mean I won’t call you in the middle of the night with some goofy questions about how does this feature work, what the heck is a “menu” and which one do I want to have?……:-)

1 08 2011
Lydia Plunk

Godspeed and Good Fortune with your new site.

2 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Thanks Lydia, one thing for sure, exchanging ideas, experiences on our gardening journeys is good fortune for sure. I enjoy every moment.

1 08 2011
paulfromalabama

@Lydia, Vickie, Chris and Christi, so nice to see you folks here at my new blog…I sure appreciate you folks taking the time to come by and read my story today and leave a comment. As far as leaving “comments” I sure hope it’ll be easier for you folks to leave comments now when you have them, than it was on my old site. Apple Computer has always been known for ease of use and for the most part I have always found their hardware, operating systems and software pretty easy to use and very intuitive but as for their “iWeb” application for managing a blog it kinda fell short on the “comment” part, though I must say other features that make a blog easy to produce and manage were as always pretty good. I hope all you folks will be happy with the way my blog works here and I hope ya’ll will come back as long as I keep writing these goofy little stories. I sure hope so.

1 08 2011
Nell Jean

Don’t forget to add this new site to Blotanical. Go there, click the Join button. Choose Add an Additional Blog. Then follow the prompts. This will be ‘Paul from Alabama (2)’ is the way the instructions put it. I read the instructions after I added my second Seedscatterer which I called Seedscatterer II and it worked. As long as you indicate it’s the second one, who cares?

1 08 2011
Diane Formby Brewster

You can’t hide from us for long. I look forward to continuing to read the blogs everyday. As they say, ‘They put a smile on my face and a song in my heart’. Keep up the good work.

2 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Diane I’m glad you “found” me here and that you enjoy reading the stories. As far as putting a smile on your face, well that tickles me to no end but a “song in your heart”? Well maybe a song in your heart but that’s only cause you ain’t never heard me “sing”…..and if its any consolation I sound better now after losing my vocal cords than when I had them….:-) I give you a holler when I start dividing plants. And if I have any left over I’ll save them for you. Sometimes I got a bunch and sometimes after dividing I don’t have anything really worth replanting, depends on who the plants fared that year or how they’re doing when you get around to dividing them. but I always got something anyways.

1 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Nell Jean, done…..thanks so much for your help, I think I did it the right way I think, I got an email stating it’ll take 2-3 days for approval, like before. Again thanks for your help and heads up for blotanical.

1 08 2011
Nell Jean

The RSS feed from WordPress should get rid of that Perry fellow who shows up on your Picks page. Maybe.

1 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Not a problem Nell Jean except the fact my wife has started calling me Perry too…….:-) I saw that and I thought, who the heck is that? I know it ain’t me……:-) Again thanks.

1 08 2011
tbrose

Love the new blog. Looks SUPER! Teresa

2 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Thanks Teresa. I hope you visit often and I wanted to tell you how nice it is to see you making so many things with your plants, I’m always sharing them with my wife. You using things to flavor your drinks, make things that smell nice and I see now you’re going to start experimenting with rose hips too……Sometimes I think some folks don’t know or take the time to enjoy everything there is to know or things they can do in the garden. It’s nice to visit your blog and learn so many new things from you. Thanks.

1 08 2011
flyingdj

Paul, I always knew you were kind of “suspicious” but now I have the proof. I received this warning from my firewall (because this is a new site):

“This Web site is suspicious. Leave now unless you know this site is safe.”

Don’t worry, I ignore all warnings. Do you want my social security and checking account numbers? I’ll provide them to you or you can get them from the nice African Prince that requested them in my e-mail today. He is going to make me rich!

Note to self – change URL in Favorites to Paul’s new site.

Congratulations on the new domain name!

2 08 2011
paulfromalabama

flyingdj, I’m not kind of “suspicious”, I’m real “suspicious” and your firewall is pretty darn intuitive picking up on it too…..If I’d had a firewall years ago to warn me of things “suspicious” going on around me, well me and a couple of my moonshine buddies would have never got caught…..:-) But even a firewall wouldn’t help with some of the sneaky revenuers we used to have around here years ago……:-) As far as your social security number or checking account numbers go, well I don’t need or even want them, just send me cash directly into my off shore account…..:-) And thanks for visiting my new site, bookmarking it and thanks for noticing my new domain change. I’m now http://paulfromalabama.com

I hope my father won’t be mad at me for changing my name, i don’t reckon he will, he was a very forgiving man and forgave me for a lot worse things than changing my domain name….:-) I wish he was here with me right now laughing with us…..OK going to ease on now, you take care and I’ll “see” you next week on the radio, WKLUP, Milbergers South Texas garden show, Lord I love to listen them guys cut up and talk gardening. I missed Dr. Parsons this week, hope returns next week. See ya

2 08 2011
OutsidePlaying

Thanks for directing us here, Paul, from DG. Nice, new site! Well done! Consider yourself saved now as a bookmark.

2 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Hey OutsidePlaying, consider yourself welcomed here. Thanks for visiting and bookmarking my blog and I look forward to hearing from you again soon. I hope you enjoy anything you read or see here. Have a good week.

Leave a Reply

