Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – August 2011

15 08 2011

Carol from “May Dreams Gardens” blog, which you can find right here: http://www.maydreamsgardens.com/  is nice enough to host something called “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day” which is where other garden bloggers post photos of their garden blooms on any particular day as long it’s the 15th of that month, that particular month….:-)  You can post pictures from your garden from the 14th of that month or even the 16th of that month, but you’ll be liable for prosecution to the full extent of the law and let me tell you fellow gardeners something right now, Carol from May Dreams Gardens means what she says about the rules cause I know one gardener who just got out of prison after doing 3 years for posting pictures of her ‘Zeprhine Drouhin’ roses she took in April when they were really peaking and at the best but the silly girl posted them in the May Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day trying to slip them in. Carol and her investigators had her picked up almost immediately, they locked the poor girl up, she went to trial, was prosecuted  and convicted for unlawfully posting pretty pictures of her roses in the wrong month, she did 3 years in the “Joint” and the investigators that Carol sent to her house to arrest her pulled up her ‘Zeprhine Drouhin’ roses just for spite !!!!……What did I tell you fellow gardeners?  That Carol from “May Dreams Gardens” blog is just a barrel of laughs……:-)

But other than that one little thing, you know posting photos of your garden blooms from some other day than the day that Carol says you should, well other than that, Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is lots of fun…..:-) And I hope you’ll participate too if you already haven’t…..I’m going to participate today and I might even try to slip  in a couple of pictures that I DIDN’T take today but you see I already been in prison so prison don’t scare me. Only thing that scares me is mildew on my phlox paniculata (‘David’ ) or God forbid on my Monarda didyma (‘Jacob Cline’). I’m terrified of that. I used to be terrified that I might actually kill a plant that I’d planted in my garden but I’ve killed so many plants now it don’t scare me anymore at all, no it just sends me into bouts of deep depression from say early March to late September…..:-) But enough about me and my little quirks and enough about Carol and her unreasonable rules and vindictiveness….:-) How about some photos of my garden blooms I took early this morning or NOT….:-) Photo slide show is below, Photo galldery is below that, take your pick, both have the same photos along with intelligent, cogent, informative captions written by the same guy who took the pictures at 6 0’clock this morning…..:-)  The ‘Addendum’ is below the photo gallery below, way below……:-)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Addendum:

I’m glad you dropped by for Garden Bloggers’s Bloom Day. It’s fun and I love to post pictures of my garden as much as I love visiting all the other gardeners’ blogs who participate in GBBD. Thanks so much for taking the time to either read one of my little stories or to take a look at my photos on Garden Bloggers’s Bloom Day. Either way I hope you have a good time while you’re here and leave with a smile on your face. If you have time please leave a comment, I really loved hearing from folks who visit. Again thanks.

Actions

Information

43 responses

15 08 2011
KB

And, who wouldn’t get a blessing from all these pictures?! Paul, you and Linda are certainly two wonderful gardeners!! You have a talent with your garden visions….thanks for sharing. These pix would make anybody’s day!

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Thanks KB, so glad you enjoyed the pictures, the plants and thanks for your nice comments. If my pix made your day then you just made mine…..Thanks again for visiting…..

15 08 2011
Christine

Hi Paul – what a fabulous shaow of your garden! Itsa looking simply stunning, all lush and full of pretty blooms. Gorgeous!
PS: LOVE the Pennisetum ‘Princess Caroline’.
PPSS: Happy GBBD 🙂

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Christine I wish I could send you a start of my ‘Princess Caroline’ but I think it’s patented and I’m sure I’d be apprehended as soon as I left the Post Office…..:-) Thanks for visiting Christine and thanks for your nice comments…..Come back soon

15 08 2011
Kay

such beauty!!!
KMT

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Kay, thanks so much for coming by, you take care of yourself and I hope to see you and Ed whenever you’re over this way.

15 08 2011
Janet at Planticru Notes

HI Paul,
What a refreshing change it is to see a blog that is laid out differently and includes a slide show. I too like your pennisetum. How long have you had it? And how do you manage to keep it looking so healthy during the hot, dry weather?
Lovely garden.

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Janet the ‘Princess Caroline’ is brand new this year, I planted it in early April and it just took off and has been happy everyday I since I put it in the ground. I bet it’d do the same for you too.

15 08 2011
LINDA from EACH LITTLE WORLD

I have to agree with Janet above. Your layout was a nice change and your garden is so beautifully maintained. That crispness really showcases your plantings.

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Thanks Linda for your nice comments. I “work” in the garden everyday just piddling is what I call it. I enjoy every moment till it gets just hot around noon these days……I wouldn’t know how not to piddle in the garden everyday, I just love it. And thank you so much for visiting and I hope you’ll return. I write something about everyday or so, I hope if you read something here you enjoy it.

15 08 2011
flyingdj

Paul, which ones are the expensive plants? I need to know this information if I’m going to jump over the fence at night and steal them. It would be silly to steal the cheap plants.

Or, maybe we can trade.

What do you have that will live in an average high temperature of 104.6 F and an average low of 79.1 F (those are real figures from the National Weather Service for August 1st through 14th) that don’t require any water or care?

I already have rocks and dirt that are doing pretty good.

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Dear flyingdj,

All my plants are “expensive” cause I go broke every time I visit a nursery. If they were cheap seems like I’d have some money left when I got home…..:-) No need to steal my plants or even trade, I’ll give you any extras you want if I got’em…….

“What do you have that will live in an average high temperature of 104.6 F and an average low of 79.1 F (those are real figures from the National Weather Service for August 1st through 14th) that don’t require any water or care? I already have rocks and dirt that are doing pretty good.”

My first wife?……:-)……Just kidding, she drank a lot of water if I remember correctly……:-)

It’s always nice to hear from you, you’re a hoot…..One of these days I’m going to make it to Texas again, I might just show up at your door. I won’t steal any plants, if you’re home that is…….:-)

15 08 2011
RedneckRosarian

Paul. Wow! What an awesome tour of your garden. I’m mighty envious of that fountain….

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Hey Chris, First off I sure enjoyed the #gardenchat tonight, the video was lots of fun and I look forward to it next time Bren does it. As for the fountain, no need to be jealous, you just ease on over here one of these days and I’ll take you to Jacksonville to Bloomin Miracles, Victoria there will fix you right up, she did me and I’ve enjoyed that fountain so much. I gave it to my wife for her birthday one year and I end up cleaning it out every year, so theoretically it’s mine, right?……;-)Come back when you can, always nice to hear from you

15 08 2011
The Sage Butterfly

What a treat it is to have a tour of your garden! You have placed such beauty in every single corner…I enjoyed this very much! Happy GBBD!

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

So glad you enjoyed the tour of the garden. I wish you’d been here in person but I sure appreciate you visiting my blog too. I try to fill every corner with something pretty. For one thing I like nooks and corners filled with flowers and two as time goes by you run out of room and nooks and crannies are all you got sometimes……Please come back anytime. I try to write something every day, sometimes with pictures, sometimes with me just rambling on…..either way I hope you return.

15 08 2011
Nell Jean

I didn’t have the heart to get out and make pics for bloom day in the face of hot and dry. Thanks for sharing yours so we’d have something to enjoy.

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

It’s going to be a nice fall day before you know it and me and you both are going to be out and about. I wouldn’t have been out myself but I got out early, early this morning. If I drink coffee on the porch and catch up with the news online from about 4 a.m. till 5 or daylight or so and then piddle till 10 or so I can get done about all I need to do……It ain’t never perfect but you know that. Only plastic flowers are perfect that’s why I don’t ever want any perfect flowers……:-) Come see us……

15 08 2011
Bom

This was such an enjoyable read. So many laws and rules. I think Carol may really be from Alabama and not Indiana. 😀

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Well Bom if she’s from Alabama you could have fooled me…..:-) And thanks for your nice comments. I enjoy writing and I’m so happy you enjoyed reading my little story today. About the laws and rules. I ain’t never been a big law abider myself always but I follow all rules and laws to the letter now, well except for GBBD rules and laws…….:-) Come back anytime, nice to meet you.

15 08 2011
Caroline

Wow! Thanks for the garden tour. I enjoyed your sense of humor as much as the photos (very rare day lily, ha ha). Happy GBBD!

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Caroline, have you seen that day lily before?……;-) Happy GBBD to you too….Come back ya hear…..:-)

15 08 2011
Cheryl

beautiful gardens, and thanx for all the giggles…..how come your blue chip looks so happy? i have been utterly dissappointed with mine. Msut be that mason dixon line 😉

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Cheryl, thanks so much, glad you enjoyed the garden and I’m sure tickled you got some giggles. Giggles are good for ya. As far as the incredible performance of my little ‘Blue Chips’s’ It’s not he Mason Dixon line silly, it’s the way we talk down here, makes our plants just show out……:-) Come back ya hear…….I love typing that, “come back ya hear” , i wouldn’t “say” that in a million years but I love typing it……Go figure…….:-)

15 08 2011
Joy

Paul, enjoyed this so much. Photos beautiful! I hardly ever comment but I read your blog every day (well some days I have to catch up) and always enjoy them.

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

Joy, you just made my day……and I appreciate you taking the time to comment and for reading my little stories. I hope you always enjoy them and I hope you’ll comment again sometimes whenever you feel like it. it always nice to hear from folks and its nice to hear from you. You have a nice week……

15 08 2011
David

Paul! You got a lot going on there in Alambama and it all look terrific. About how many different plants do you grow in your garden? I had around 300 species and cultivars at one point, but it’s much lower now as drought and heat take their toll.
Happy GBBD & thanks for stopping by Tropical Texana.
David/ Houston 🙂

15 08 2011
Paul From Alabama

David I’d tell you how many different kinds of plants, species and cultivars I got in my garden but my wife reads this blog and if she ever found out just how many plants I’ve bought over the years, well you can see my problem can’t you?…..Let’s just say this and leave it at that, I got as many plants as I can sneak out of the car and into the ground before she knows it…..How many is that?……;-) Enjoyed blog too and you come back soon…..

16 08 2011
John

Paul, glad I stopped by to look at your pictures. In between your humorous narrative I can see that you really enjoy all the details concerning your plantings. Even though I complain about the heat in Maryland, it’s clear you have had even worse to deal with. And you’re right, it looks just like Sissinghurst…

16 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Howdy John, thanks for stopping by and I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures and my rantings…as far as Sissinghurst goes well I don’t have their staff but then they don’t have my wife either, so I reckon that makes us even…..:-) I was looking at your yellow corydalis, they say its too hot down here for that but I’m going to try to see if I can grow it. love then looks and longevity of yours…..Come back again whenever you get a chance, we’ll be here…..

16 08 2011
Nell Jean

You can too grow yellow corydalis. It blooms here in the early spring with daffodils and then dies back until the next year. Native. Wonder if it is the same corydalis?

16 08 2011
Nell Jean

I posted about Corydalis on Dotty Plants blog and linked to you and John. It was here, it was gone for years after I identified it and suddenly one spring it showed up again on this side of the highway. That’s my rationale for not being too neat — you never know what will come up. Brought by birds, blown in on the wind, magic; I never question the source.

16 08 2011
Matti

Two faves, Hummingbird island. Great addition to any garden. I’m surprised and amazed every time I see one. 2nd is the Sedum Autumn Joy. I believe that’s the one we grew back I’m WI. Need to pop a cutting in our garden. All your pics delight me. Matti

18 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Matti so glad you enjoyed the photos and Hummingbird Island, I reckon I enjoy that as much as anything. If it ain’t full of hummingbirds it’s full of butterflies and bees for sure…..Please come back again and I hope you have a nice weekend.

16 08 2011
Larry

I’m going to have to come back to this post when I have more time… the first couple paragraphs have caught my interest… for now it’s off to see my surgeon and he’d best not wreck my gardening obsession!! Larry

18 08 2011
paulfromalabama

I sure hope your surgeon didn’t wreck you gardening obsession, an obsession is a terrible thing to lose not unlike a good car or a good wife, not necessarily in that order…….:-) My wife is gonna kill me when she reads this……:-) I hope you made it back and I hope you’ll enjoy whatever you see or read here…Hope to talk to you again soon

16 08 2011
Dreamybee

Well, I know this post is about the plants (which are gorgeous!) but I love all your big pots! You and I even have almost the same big orange pot sitting on a little brick island. The trick is to buy the plants before the pots so you don’t risk using up all your money on the pots! 😉 I have a lemon tree in mine; what do you have planned for yours?

18 08 2011
paulfromalabama

I like your strategy as far as shopping for plants and then pots goes. Are you a professional financial adviser or just a good garden coach?……:-) As far as what I got planned for my pot I got a plastic pot that’ll fit in the top of it, a 20 inch one. well two of them actually so I’ll have white lilies, a dwarf form of Casa Blanca kinda and then when they finished blooming I switch over to Scaveola as a spiller and as for thriller well I ain’t made up my mind yet……But come back soon as I’ll make up my mind as soon as my wife wakes up……:-)

18 08 2011
Lydia Plunk

What a well laid out garden- and blog. Glad you and Linda had an excuse to take the day off to watch Bogart. Not good if your garden comes to take you for granted):-

18 08 2011
paulfromalabama

Lydia, thanks for coming by again its always nice to see you…The old garden does take us for granted sometimes and it’s nice of you to notice that, but she’ll be happy to know that I’ll be back in the bosom of my garden as soon as I find out where I put my gardening clogs last night……..:-)

18 08 2011
Scott

Love the ‘Princess Caroline’ Pennisetum…is that really hardy to zone 8? If so, I MUST have one!

19 08 2011
M Light

I’m not sure which I enjoyed more – the photos or the captions! I loved your lighthearted view of gardening and Bloom Day.

19 08 2011
paulfromalabama

M Light I’m glad you enjoyed both, please come back again. I can’t take Bloggers Bloom Day to seriously as I have to read the directions to the camera every time I use it…….:-) But I love looking at other folks gardens either online or in person…It’s always nice to see what other folks are growing and how and where they’re growing it…….Please come back when you can…….

Leave a Reply

